

9.14.18

## APPOINTMENT OF FACULTY MEMBERS OF THE INFORMATION **TECHNOLOGY AND MANAGEMENT CURRICULUM COMMITTEE**

The Curriculum Committee of the Department of Information Technology and Management will develop and review curriculum objectives, content, and implementation for all academic programs and degrees within the department, and for joint curricula developed with other academic units at IIT or other institutions. The Committee will establish and oversee implementation of processes to assess attainment of program learning goals and student outcomes. Based on examination of these assessments and the recommendations of faculty, students, college or departmental advisory boards, and external experts, the Committee will evaluate and recommend curriculum revisions in accordance with university and School of Applied Technology objectives, the ACM/IEEE-CS Information Technology Curriculum, ACM/IEEE-CS/AIS/IFIP Cybersecurity Curricula, NSA/DHS CAE Knowledge Units, and ABET/CSAB accreditation criteria to ensure continuous improvement of the curricula.

The Committee will consist of a minimum of five faculty members, at least three of whom shall be full time university faculty or staff members, and two student members. Faculty members shall be appointed for a term of two years and may be reappointed. Student members shall be appointed for one semester and may be appointed to serve additional terms.

Meetings of the Curriculum Committee are open to all faculty members in the department, and all full-time faculty members may elect to vote on issues before the Committee when they are in attendance. The Committee will meet a minimum of once per semester and more often as may be judged necessary by the Chair. The attendance of three appointed faculty members shall constitute a quorum for business of the Committee. A record of all meetings will be published as soon as is feasible after each meeting of the Committee. The Information Technology and Management Department Manager shall serve as the recorder for the Committee.

The Committee may publish approved revised or new curricula for approval by the faculty. Any curricula approved when Curriculum Committee attendance includes a quorum of fulltime faculty members will have faculty approval with no further action. Once approved and when necessary, curricula will be forwarded to the Undergraduate Studies Committee or Graduate Studies Committee for action. The appropriate studies committee will then forward the curricula as necessary for consideration by the University Faculty Council, the University Faculty, and the Trustees of the University.

The following members are appointed to the Curriculum Committee for a term to end May 31, 2020; these appointments are effective immediately:

Ray Trygstad - Chair Louis McHugh IV

Maurice E. Dawson Thomas A. Johnson, Jr.

Jeremy Hajek Dan Kahn

These members shall recommend two student members who will be appointed separately.

bert Carlson

C. Robert Carlson

I accept the appointment and agree to serve as a member of the Department of Information Technology and Management Curriculum Committee as per the above appointment letter and the Information Technology and Management Faculty Handbook.

Signature

Date

Typed or Printed Name